As a Woman Traveling the World Alone, I Always Make Sure to Pack These Items

Paige Humphrey
5 min readJun 8, 2022
Photo by Asad Photo Maldives

I’ve traveled far and often since a young age. My first international trip was in the third grade, when my family and I took a trip across the Nordic region, stopping in Iceland, Denmark, and Sweden (where we were able to visit some old friends)! Our family values traveling since it’s a chance to try new foods, meet new people, and fully submerge ourselves in a new culture.

I’ve carried my parents’ passion for travel throughout my life, visiting places such as Greece, Japan, San Francisco, Germany, Peru, Morocco, The Grand Canyon, and more.

Quick note: If you’re wondering which place has been my favorite to visit, it’s absolutely Greece. The food is incredible and it’s as beautiful as the pictures in magazines!

Although my time spent traveling domestically and internationally has been a joyous and unforgettable experience, I’m not lost on the risk that I’m taking by exploring new regions, especially when I am alone.

For reference, Armormax posted this article on the most dangerous countries in Europe. I’ve visited some of the cities that made the list — including Athens and Paris!

--

--